Athletic Department

Goldkamp, Cutshaw Earn Most Outstanding Athlete Awards
Release: Monday 06/14/2010 


PEORIA, Ill. -- An individual conference champion and the league's leading scorer during the regular season, runner Mary Goldkamp and senior soccer player Chris Cutshaw are the 2009-10 Bradley University Alumni B-Club Most Outstanding Athletes following a vote of school coaches, staff members and local media.

Goldkamp earned All-Missouri Valley Conference honors in cross country, indoor track and outdoor track during the 2009-10 athletic year, capped by the individual title in the 1,500 meters at the State Farm MVC Outdoor Championship at Illinois State.  In addition to her championship run, Goldkamp placed seventh in the 800-meter dash at the MVC Outdoor Championship and she was a NCAA regional qualifier in the 1,500 meters.  She also earned All-MVC honors on the strength of her fifth-place showing at the 2009 State Farm MVC Cross Country Championship at Newman Golf Course, as well as her participation on the distance medley relay team that finished second at the 2010 State Farm MVC Indoor Track and Field Championship.

Cutshaw was a first-team All-MVC selection after leading the league in goals (10) and total points (23) during the 2009 regular-season, while also collecting second-team NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-Midwest Region honors.  The Most Valuable Player for the 2009 Busey Bank Kickoff Festival at Shea Stadium, Cutshaw registered the seventh hat trick in program history in the 3-0 win against Mercer in the tournament finale, a performance that led to MVC Offensive Player of the Week, as well as and Soccer America national Team-of-the-Week honors.  He went on to become a fourth-round selection by the Colorado Rapids in the 2010 Major League Soccer SuperDraft.

Goldkamp becomes the third cross country/track runner to win the female version of the Most Outstanding Athlete since the award was split into genders in 1995, joining Mary Ellen Hill in 1998, 1999 and 2000 and Tamara Hart in 2003.  Cutshaw becomes the fifth soccer player to win the male version, following four-time winner Gavin Glinton (1999-2002), Tim Regan (2003), Chris Dunsheath (2006) and Joe Donoho (2008).

Bradley University Alumni B-Club Most Outstanding Athletes -- All-Time List of Winners


Live Events

There are currently no live events

Braves Athletic Teams